Will Ferrell Is Mark Twain Prize For American Humor 2011 Recipient

By on May 14, 2011 in Entertainment, Movies, Television, United States Comments

Will Ferrell
Image Credit: Reuters/Luke MacGregor

Will Ferrell, US actor and impersonator, is the 2011 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor recipient, according to reports by several international news sites.

Ferrell, 43, who became popular on his television show, Saturday Night Live, will receive his award during a live tribute dinner on October 23, 2011 at the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts in Washington DC.

In a written statement, Ferrell said, that he is honored by the recognition and will begin raising a “Mark Twain-esque moustache” for the fall gala, where he will receive the award.

Reports say that  Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is America’s top award for humor, and has been awarded by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts annually since 1998. The prize is named after the 19th century novelist, essayist and humorist Mark Twain and is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to American humor.

Below is the complete list of previous recipients of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

  • 1998Richard Pryor
  • 1999Jonathan Winters
  • 2000Carl Reiner
  • 2001Whoopi Goldberg
  • 2002Bob Newhart
  • 2003Lily Tomlin
  • 2004 Lorne Michaels
  • 2005Steve Martin
  • 2006 Neil Simon
  • 2007Billy Crystal
  • 2008George Carlin
  • 2009 Bill Cosby
  • 2010Tina Fey

Spread The News!

Tags: , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?