sikreto ng mayayaman

TV Patrol at 25: ABS-CBN TV Patrol 25th anniversary celebration in Pampanga, special broadcast at night

By on Mar 5, 2012 in Asia, Television Comments

Manila, PhilippinesABS-CBN‘s “TV Patrol” is now celebrating its 25 years in local TV, which is also now the longest-running Filipino primetime TV newscast in the country.

TV Patrol’s 25th anniversary marker unveiling in
Pampanga, with anchors (L-R) Korina Sanchez,
Ted Failon and Noli de Castro (March 5, 2012)

Image Credit: Bert Apostol/ABS-CBN

As noted by ABS-CBN on Monday, March 05, 2012, the “TV Patrol” 25th anniversary celebration started that day by unveiling a commemorative marker in Barangay Nabuclod, Floridablanca, Pampanga.

According to the report, ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs head Regina “Ging” Reyes said that the town was chosen for the historic marker since the place became their headquarters back in 1991 when Mt. Pinatubo erupted on June that year.

Meanwhile, current TV Patrol anchors Noli de Castro, Ted Failon and Korina Sanchez were among who joined past and present members of TV Patrol that day during the unveiling rites in Pampanga.

Based on ABS-CBN history, TV Patrol had its first airing on March 2, 1987 and featured anchors “Kabayan” Noli de Castro, Mel Tiangco and Robert Arevalo, who was later replaced by Frankie Evangelista.

Ted Failon temporarily replaced Frankie Evangelista in 1992, and Korina Sanchez in 1995 replaced Mel Tiangco, who transferred to GMA Network; while Noli de Castro left the show in 2001 to run for senator and eventually became the Vice President under the Arroyo administration.

Korina Sanchez left TV Patrol in November 2004 and had other shows in ABS-CBN, with the show having lot of changes in its format throughout the years along with the introduction of other anchors including Karen Davila and Julius Babao.

Back in November 2010, Korina Sanchez and Noli de Castro returned to the show and joined Ted Failon, while Davila and Babao were transferred to the network’s late night news program, “Bandila” to join Ces Drilon as anchors.

Meanwhile, special online and on-ground activities will also be held this Monday to celebrate TV Patrol’s 25th anniversary, along with its special anniversary broadcast at 6:30 p.m. (local time) at ABS-CBN.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?