AIM World

Tsunami Warning: Philippine Institute Of Volcanology and Seismology Issued Alert Warning For 19 Philippine Provinces

By on Mar 11, 2011 in Asia, Natural Disasters, World Comments
TSUNAMI Alert in The Philippines
Tsunami Alert In Philippine Area
Image Credit:

Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology issued a tsunami alert to 19 provinces after an 8.9 magnitude earthquake hit Japan, GMA news reported. (Update: Tsunami Alert in the Philippines already cancelled by PHIVOLCS.)

The tsunami alert level has been raised to Level 2 which was said to reach Philippine shores between 5:00 and 7:00 p.m. The unusual waves could be as high as one meter, according to Phivolcs.

Renato Solidum, director of Phivolcs said that residents in coastal areas should evacuate soon and transfer to higher grounds.

The areas affected with the tsunami alert were the eastern coastline which include the following:

  • Batanes Islands
  • Cagayan
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Isabela
  • Quezon
  • Aurora
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Albay
  • Catanduanes
  • Sorsogon
  • Northern Samar
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Leyte
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur

Meanwhile, a tsunami warning has also been issued for Guam, Taiwan, Indonesia And The U.S. State of Hawaii by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center in Hawaii.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?