sikreto ng mayayaman

Suspension of classes: No classes Thursday, August 9, 2012 in Metro Manila areas and nearby provinces

By on Aug 8, 2012 in Announcement, Asia, Colleges, Education, Universities Comments

Note: The post was update at 8:30 p.m. The list of areas that earlier declared ‘no classes’ was replaced by the announcement from the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO).

Manila, Philippines – There are still no classes tomorrow, Thursday, August 9, 2012 in Metro Manila, or National Capital Region (NCR), and nearby provinces, with the suspension of classes still due to to the heavy flood brought about by continuous rains that started a few days ago.

Flood in Caloocan City, Metro Manila (August 8, 2012)
Image Credit: Danny Pata/Philippine Air Force/GMA News

Most LGU (Local Government Units), schools, and universities have already declared suspension of classes for tomorrow, and have announced them in local news and on social sites such as Facebook and Twitter, along with the assistance from the official Twitter account of the Department of Education (DepEd).

For the latest weather update, PAGASA via their official Twitter account announced that as of 5 p.m. (local time) today, Wednesday, August 8, 2012, torrential rainfall (40.0-55.0 mm/hr) over QC and Marikina, heavy to intense rainfall (15.0-25.0 mm/hr) over Manila, North of Caloocan, and Pasig, and moderate to heavy rainfall (5.0-15.0 mm/hr) over the rest of Metro Manila.

For the suspension of classes in Metro Manila, or National Capital Region (NCR) and nearby areas, a statement below reads at the official website of Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) at, as of 8:30 p.m., Wednesday, August 8, 2012.

Memorandum Circular 34 has just been issued by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr., suspending all classes on August 9, 2012 in all levels—including postgraduate courses—in the following areas: the National Capital Region, Zambales, Bataan, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Tarlac, Bulacan, Laguna, Cavite, and Rizal. There will be work in national government and private offices. A full version of M.C. 34 is forthcoming.”

Based on geographical location, Metro Manila is composed of Caloocan City, Las Pinas, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Manila, Makati, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Paranaque, Pasay, Pasig, Pateros, Quezon City, San Juan, Taguig, and Valenzuela.

For Marikina City, Pasay City, and Quezon City, suspension of classes in all levels (public and private) will be from tomorrow, August 9, 2012, to Friday, August 10, 2012.

For Batangas, DepEd (@DepEd_PH) tweets: “Batangas: Classes will resume in all public and private schools tomorrow, Aug 9, except for day care students. – Gov. Vilma Santos-Recto

Announcement of suspension of classes on Thursday, August 9, 2012
Screenshot Credit:

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?