sikreto ng mayayaman

PAGASA Weather Bagyong Ofel Update: Storm Signal 1 in 20 areas, Storm Signal 2 in 15 areas

By on Oct 24, 2012 in Science, Weather Comments

Update: October 25, 2012 3:45 p.m.

Read PAGASA Weather Bagyong Ofel Update: Storm Signal 1 in 11 areas, Storm Signal 2 in 6 areas

Manila, Philippines – The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) released its latest weather update as of 5 p.m. Wednesday, October 24, 2012, noting that Bagyong Ofel (Tropical Storm Ofel) has slightly accelerated and is now crossing Leyte.


Image Credit: PAGASA DOST Twitter

As announced by PAGASA on its official Twitter account, 15 areas are currently under Storm Signal No. 2 while 20 other areas are now under Storm Signal No. 1. Bagyong Ofel has now maximum sustained winds of 65 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 80 kph, while moving west-northwest at 22 kph.

Residents living in low lying and mountainous areas under Storm Signal No 1 and 2 are being advised alerted against possible flashfloods and landslides. Those living in coastal areas under Storm Signal No. 2 are being warned of possible storm surges.

Fishing boats and other small seacrafts are strongly advised not to travel into the Eastern Seaboard of Southern Luzon, seaboards of Visayas and Mindanao due to the combined effect of Bagyong Ofel and the Northeast Monsoon.

PAGASA noted that Tropical Storm Ofel is being expected to be at 70 km Northwest of San Jose, Mindoro on Thursday (October 25) afternoon and will be at 450 km West of Iba, Zambales by Friday (October 26) afternoon. Below is the list of areas with Storm Signal No. 1 and 2.

Signal No. 1:

* Camarines Sur
* Albay
* Sorsogon
* Burias Island
* Southern Quezon
* Marinduque
* Oriental Mindoro
* Occidental Mindoro
* Calamian Group of Island
* Batangas
* Lubang Island
* Cuyo Island
* Northern Samar
* Antique
* Iloilo
* Southern Negros
* Southern Cebu
* Bohol
* Surigao del Norte
* Siargao Island

Signal No. 2:

* Masbate
* Romblon
* Eastern Samar
* Western Samar
* Leyte
* Southern Leyte
* Biliran Island
* Camotes Island
* Capiz
* Aklan
* Boracay Island
* Northern Cebu
* Bantayan Island
* Northern Negros
* Dinagat Island

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?