NFL admits mistake on Panthers’ DeAngelo Williams touchdown callBy Angel Cuala on Nov 6, 2012 in Football, Sports, United States •
The National Football League (NFL) admits its mistake on Monday, November 5, 2012, regarding the wrong call on Carolina Panthers‘ DeAngelo Williams‘ attempt to make a touchdown, during its match against the Washington Redskins last Sunday at the FedEx Field, in Maryland. The Panthers won, 21-13.
Carolina Panthers’ DeAngelo Williams, making
running for a touchdown against the Washington
Redskins (November 4, 2012)
Image Credit: Patrick McDermott, Getty Images
As noted at NFL.com on Monday, DeAngelo Williams was on his way to a 30-yard touchdown (TD) when a referee blew his whistle at the 17-yard line and mistakenly thought the Panthers running back had stepped out of bounds. Williams continued to run and completed the touchdown, while the Redskins stopped pursuing him.
According to the report, Redskins coach Mike Shanahan told reporters that line judge Thomas Symonette‘s whistle was “an obvious mistake” and that the NFL had no choice but to admit that the officials made a wrong call, noting that the Panthers should not have been given a touchdown.
“In Sunday’s game between the Carolina Panthers and Washington Redskins, the Panthers were incorrectly awarded a touchdown following an inadvertent whistle.” An NFL spokesperson was quoted in a statement at CBS Sports, confirming that Williams did not step out of bounds.
Apparently, the paper said that the ball should have been dead when Symonette blew the whistle, and the Panthers should have given two options: Have the ball on the 17-yard line or replay the down at the 30; which is indicated on page 32 of the NFL Rule Book, Rule 7, Section 2, Article 1; when an inadvertent whistle is blown.
Apparently, this issue was raised because all touchdowns are now being reviewed automatically. The replay of the game showed the whistle was blown earlier, but the so-called inadvertent whistle was not seen in the replay. Although NFL has admitted their mistake, the earlier decision cannot be reserved.
Spread The News!