Lady Gaga wins Fashion Icon Award at 2011 CFDA Awards (winners list)

By on Jun 8, 2011 in Entertainment, Fashion, Hollywood, Lifestyle, United States Comments

Lady Gaga won the Fashion Icon Award during the 2011 CFDA Awards night, which was held on Monday, June 6, 2011, with the complete the list of winners available below.

Lady Gaga at the
2011 CFDA Awards night

Image Credit: Getty Images

As noted at CFDA’s official website, Lady Gaga received the Fashion Icon Award given by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) on Monday night, held in New York.

Gaga, 25, known to be a flamboyant singer and attracting criticisms for her unconventional fashion style, arrived at the red carpet of the 2011 CFDA awards night, dressing uniquely again.

The night, Lady Gaga wore a turquoise wig, black bustier, Mugler skirt with a sheer bodysuit inside and a 10-inch black platforms at the Alice Tully Hall, in Lincoln Center.

Apparently, there were debates as to whether the “Born This Way” singer truly deserve the Fashion Icon Award or not, but a recent post at New York magazine explains why Lady Gaga won.

“People still want to look at Gaga perhaps more than any other person on this planet because of what she wears”. NY Magazine fashion blogger Amy Odell wrote.

“And that is what makes her a fashion icon, whether or not she’s been doing it for as long as Moss or Sarah Jessica Parker or even Madonna“. Odell added.

Previous recipients of the Fashion Icon Award include Nicole Kidman in 2003, Sarah Jessica Parker in 2004, Kate Moss in 2005 and Iman in 2010.

Meanwhile, below is the complete list of the 2011 CFDA Awards winners, as summarized from

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Eddie Borgo

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Marc Jacobs

International Award
Phoebe Philo for Céline

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Hilary Alexander, The Telegraph

The Founder’s Award, given in honor of CFDA Founder Eleanor Lambert
Hal Rubenstein, InStyle

Fashion Icon Award
Lady Gaga

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute
Arthur Elgort

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?