Japan Elections 2012 Results: LDP of Shinzo Abe wins majority of House seats, early projections say

By on Dec 16, 2012 in Asia, International, Politics Comments

The Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) of Japan, which is being led by former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe is now being projected to win the majority of seats in the House of Representatives election this Sunday, December 16, 2012, according to the projection of Japanese public broadcaster NHK, citing the early results of the exit polls.

Japan LDP leader former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe

Japan’s former Prime Minister and Liberal
Democratic Party (LDP) leader Shinzo Abe

Image Credit: Itsuo Inouye/AP

According to NHK this Sunday, early Japan elections results are revealing that the LDP, the country’s main opposition party today, is being predicted to win a landslide victory over the Democratic Party, which is being led by Yoshihiko Noda, the incumbent prime minister.

“The LDP has won 222 seats in the 480-member House of Representatives. The LDP‘s coalition partner, New Komeito, has won 24 seats. Together, the 2 parties already have a majority, with 246. NHK projects the final number will be 320.” NHK wrote on their report, with LDP being an opposition party for more than 3 years.

“The Democratic Party of Japan led by Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda is likely to suffer a record loss. The party has won only 35 seats and is likely to lose two-thirds of its pre-election strength of 230 seats.” NHK added, noting that voter’s turnout was around 62 percent.

Meanwhile, the Japan Restoration Party (JRP), a newly-formed political party being led by former Tokyo Governor Shintaro Ishihara has won 34 seats, with the group being projected to become the 3rd largest party with around 50 seats. Official results are being expected to be announced this Monday.

Abe, 56, was elected as Prime Minister of Japan on September 26, 2006 but resigned from his post on September 12, 2007, and reportedly admitted in his press conference that time that he lacked trust from Japanese people; and was replaced by Yasuo Fukuda. Last September 26, he won the LDP presidential election and returned as the party leader.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?