Europe wins 2010 Ryder Cup against the United States

By on Oct 5, 2010 in Sports Comments

Ryder Cup 2010

The 2010 Ryder Cup between Europe and the United States went down the wire, with Graeme McDowell getting the win for the Europeans against American Hunter Mahan. The score ended at 14 ½-13 ½ and a victory for Europe.

McDowell, the 2010 US Open champion, sank a long birdie putt at 16, then closed out a 2-and-1 victory on the 17th against Mahan. Being the current US Open champion has given McDowell so much confidence in this tournament. The last 12 singles matches was filled with drama as the Americans rallied from the opening day deficit of 9 ½-6 ½ against the Europeans, led by Lee Westwood. The United States came charging back as Dustin Johnson birdied four holes to beat Martin Kaymer of Germany and Steve Stricker upset Westwood.

The Americans was able to even-up the game as 21-year-old Ryder Cup rookie and captain’s pick, Rickie Fowler, defeated Edoardo Molinari and Zach Johnson won over Ireland’s Padraig Harrington.

Fowler finished his game with three birdies and the score at 13 ½-13 ½. Then came the showdown between McDowell and Mahan wherein the former sank a 15-footer birdie putt at the par-4 16th.

The United States could have retained the Ryder Cup if they closed out the tournament at 14-14 tie. However, McDowell is determined to bring back the Ryder Cup trophy to Europe and upset the Americans.

For the first time in its history, The Ryder Cup was extended to a Monday due to a seven-hour rain delay on opening day, but the tournament did not reach the full 18 holes to determine the winner.

The American team is composed of  Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Jeff Overton, Johnson, Stricker and captain Corey Pavin.

Since capturing the Cup in 1993 at Belfry, the Americans have not won the Ryder Cup in Europe since 1993 at the Belfry. – Image Credit: The New York Times

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?