Dylan Thomas Prize 2010 Winner Elyse Fenton receives £30000

By on Dec 2, 2010 in Current Events, Education, Europe, World Comments
Photo credit: How a Poem Happens

The 2010 University of Wales Dylan Thomas Prize belongs to American poet Elyse Fenton. According to international reports, Fenton received the prestigious award on Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at Dylan Thomas‘ home city of Swansea, Wales. Dylan Thomas Prize was setup to honor the Welsh poet and encourage young people to write. The award is given to poets below the age of 30.

Fenton, who received £30,000, won the award for her war poetry collection “Clamor,” that was inspired partly by his husband who served as a medic in Iraq. She earned her Master’s Degree in Fine Arts from the University of Oregon.

Other winners include runners-up Canadian-born, and New Zealand-bred author Eleanor Catton for her novel entitled, The Rehearsal. Stefan Mohamed, from Powys, won the Prize’s debut £5,000 Sony Reader Award category for unpublished writers for his novel entitled, Bitter Sixteen.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?