sikreto ng mayayaman

Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks and Manny Pacquiao lead 2011 ESPY winners (complete list)

By on Jul 14, 2011 in Basketball, Boxing, Events, Football, Golf, Sports, Tennis, United States, Wrestling Comments

Dirk Nowitzki and his NBA team Dallas Mavericks lead the 2011 (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) ESPY winners, as announced on Wednesday, July 13, 2011, with the complete list available below.

Dirk Nowitzki, accepting his Best Male Athlete
award during 2011 ESPY awards night

Image Credit: Kevin Winter/Getty Images

As noted at US news sites that day, 2011 ESPY awards night was held at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, California and was hosted by SNL funnyman Seth Meyers for the second time around.

Dirk Nowitzki won two major awards including the Best Male Athlete and Best NBA Player, while his team Dallas Mavericks won Best Team after winning their first NBA championship title recently.

“I’m so humbled and honored by this. It’s been an unreal year for all of us on the Mavericks,” Dirk Nowitzki reportedly said after receiving the award.

On the other hand, Dallas Mavericks coach Rick Carlisle won the Best Coach/Manager award and 2011 NBA Rookie of the Year Blake Griffin won the Best Breakthrough Athlete award.

Meanwhile, U.S. Open champion won Best Male Golfer and Best Record-Breaking Performance and Filipino boxer and eight-time world division champion Manny Pacquiao won his second Best Fighter award.

The 2011 ESPY awards night was also attended by top Hollywood celebrities including Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Justin Timberlake and Ryan Reynolds.

Below is the complete list of 2011 ESPY winners, as summarized from

Best Male Athlete: Dirk Nowitzki, NBA
Best Female Athlete: Lindsey Vonn, Skiing
Best Championship Performance: Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins, Stanley Cup Finals
Best Breakthrough Athlete: Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers
Best Record-Breaking Performance: Rory McIlroy, Golf
Best Upset: VCU, NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament
Best Game: Eagles rally to beat the Giants, NFL
Best Moment: Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies
Best Play: Abby Wambach of her U.S. soccer team for her overtime goal during the Women’s World Cup quarterfinals
Best Team: Dallas Mavericks
Castrol Edge Performance Under Pressure Award: Arian Foster, Houston Texans
Best Sports Movie: The Fighter
Best Coach/Manager: Rick Carlisle, Dallas Mavericks
Best NFL Player: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay
Best MLB Player: Roy Halladay, Philadelphia
Best NHL Player: Tim Thomas, Boston
Best Driver: Jimmie Johnson
Best NBA Player: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
Best WNBA Player: Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury
Best Fighter: Manny Pacquiao
Best Male Golfer: Rory McIlroy
Best Female Golfer: Cristie Kerr
Best Male Tennis Player: Rafael Nadal
Best Female Tennis Player: Serena Williams
Best Male College Athlete: Jimmer Fredette, BYU Basketball
Best Female College Athlete: Maya Moore, Connecticut Basketball
Best Male Action Sport Athlete: Shaun White, Snowboarding
Best Female Action Sport Athlete: Stephanie Gilmore, Surfing
Best Jockey: John Velasquez
Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Wrestler Anthony Robles
Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Swimmer Mallory Weggemann
Best Bowler: Jason Belmonte
Best MLS Player: Landon Donovan, Los Angeles
Best Track and Field Athlete: Tyson Gay
Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: Boxer Dewey Rader Bozella

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?