Author and Writer Mario Vargas Llosa won the Nobel Prize 2010 for Literature

By on Oct 7, 2010 in Europe, World Comments

Author and writer Mario Vargas Llosa is the Nobel Prize 2010 winner for Literature, as announced by the Nobel Committee today.

Llosa, who was said not to be belonging to this year’s list of favorites, was awarded for ‘his cartography of the structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt and defeat’.

This writer from Peru is being considered as one of leading novelists and essayists of Latin America, has written more than 30 novels, essays, and plays including “The War of the End of the World.” and “The Feast of the Goat”.

During the 1960s, Vargas Llosa became popular for his novels such as “The Time of the Hero” and “The Green House”.

He was also involved in politics, as he once supported Cuban president Fidel Castro and later ran for president in his country.

Spread The News!

Tags: , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?