Anuradha Koirala was named 2010 CNN Hero of the Year

By on Nov 21, 2010 in Announcement, Events, United States, World Comments

Anuradha Koirala was named 2010 CNN Hero of the Year on their Thanksgiving night celebration at their global network on Saturday, as posted at CNN on Sunday.

Anuradha Koirala, whose organization named Maiti Nepal and was established in 1993, was said to have rescued more than 12,000 girls and women from being sex slaves.

She was chosen by the pubic through online voting at, which ran for eight weeks, CNN‘s Anderson Cooper announced the result during the 4th Annual “CNN Heroes: An All-Star Tribute.”

Koirala was introduced by Hollywood actress Demi Moore and her husband, Ashton Kutcher, who created ‘The Demi and Ashton Foundation (aka DNA)’, which purpose is to aims to eradicate child sex slavery worldwide.

“Human trafficking is a crime, a heinous crime, a shame to humanity,” Anuradha Koirala said after she was introduced as one of the Top 10 CNN Heroes of 2010, where her page and photo can be seen below, as taken from CNN.

“I ask everyone to join me to create a society free of trafficking. We need to do this for all our daughters.” She added.

The selections of the Top 10 CNN Heroes for 2010 were made by blue-ribbon panel from the network, which came from more than 10,000 nominations from more than 100 countries worldwide.

The grand event was joined by the 33 Chilean miners who were rescued last month, along with five of their rescuers, who was given a great salute as the show open.

Rock bands including Bon Jovi, Sugarland, and John Legend performed that night, while celebrity presenters included Demi Moore, Halle Berry, Renee Zellweger, and Jessica Alba.

In addition to the $25,000 awarded to each of the Top 10 CNN Heroes 2010, Anuradha Koirala will receive $100,000, to support her Maiti Nepal and can save more girls and woman.

According to CNN, the “CNN Heroes: An All-Star Tribute” will be aired at CNN International on Thursday, on November 25, at 8 p.m. ET and Friday, November 26, at 5 a.m. ET, 1100/2200 Berlin and 0900/1800 Hong Kong.

Below is the list of the 2010 Top 10 CNN Heroes in alphabetical order.

1. Guadalupe Arizpe De La Vega

2. Susan Burton

3. Linda Fondren

4. Anuradha Koirala (2010 CNN Hero of the Year)

5. Narayanan Krishnan

6. Magnus MacFarlane-Barrow

7. Harmon Parker

8. Aki Ra

9. Evans Wadongo

10. Dan Wallrath

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?