A new Facebook App that allow users know who checked their profile a scam?

By on Nov 30, 2010 in Internet, Opinion, Technology Comments

Apparently, there is a new Facebook App that promises to allow users to know who checked their profile, but is being suspected as a scam.

Graham Cluley of Sophos, who was believed to be the first one to published this concern on their blog, revealed that a certain apps is now being widely circulated to Facebook users promises to offer a reliable service that will allow them to know who has viewed their profile.

According to Cluley’s report, a message is now fast spreading across Facebook and says…

“OMG OMG OMG… I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile! on [‘bit.lyxxxxx’]”

Then, if someone checks the link of ‘bit.lyxxxxxx’ on the message, he will be going to a page where the app is requesting the user will allow it to have access on his Facebook profile, which is a very dangerous situation for the user.

Cluley added that he has already informed the security teams of Facebook and bit.ly, while nearly 60,000 Facebook users have been hit as of November 26, by this ‘supposed scam’ app under the profile name of ePrivacy.

Incidentally, Mike Butcher of TechCrunch also posted on their site on Monday, and confirmed that the app as it promises to reveal who had checked the profile of Facebook users is not working, and therefore a scam.

For the record, the author of this post tried to look for ePrivacy on Facebook, but only found ePrivacy Group (and not ePrivacy) which is a privacy consulting and anti-spam technology firm, founded in 2000 by David Brussin, Stephen Cobb and others, according to Wikipedia.

Meanwhile, below are the supporting images Mr. Cluley has included in his claim that the said Facebook app is a scam.



Spread The News!



Tags: , , , , , ,

Advertisement

Related News



What's On Your Mind?




Pinterest
Email