2012 NASCAR Sprint result: Denny Hamlin named Phoenix winner

By on Mar 5, 2012 in Racing, Sports, United States Comments

Denny Hamlin was named the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race winner on Sunday, March 4, 2012 at the Phoenix International Raceway, his first Phoenix win ever after a series of earlier disappointments.

Denny Hamlin, after winning the 2012
NASCAR Sprint Cup race (March 4, 2012)

Image Credit: Brian Czobat/Autostock/AP

As noted at US news sites on Sunday afternoon, Denny Hamlin won the 1-mile Phoenix race, after landing fourth at the much delayed Daytona 500 which was won by Matt Kenseth, who finished 13th this time.

According to reports, Denny Hamlin, who drove the No. 11 Toyota for Joe Gibbs racing, held off Kevin Harvick, who ran out of gas and landed second, and was followed by Greg Biffle, with 4-time Phoenix winner Jimmie Johnson landing at fourth place.

Hamlin, 31, who finished 12th in the same race in 2010 and was notably disappointed after running out of fuel wit 14 laps to go, led the final 59 laps this time of the 312-lap Subway Fresh Fit 500 and 61 laps overall.

Apparently, Hamlin‘s victory, which is his 18th career Sprint Cup win, also marked first with new crew chief, Darian Grubb, who was released from Stewart-Haas Racing and moved over to Joe Gibbs Racing.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?