2011 Nobel Prize for Physics winners announced, three awarded for Super Nova work

By on Oct 4, 2011 in Astronomy, Europe, Science Comments

Updated: October 5, 2011 6:55 p.m.

Read Daniel Shechtman is 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry winner, for Quasicrystals discovery (Video)

The 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics was announced on Tuesday, October 04, 2011 and went to three young scientists who focused with the super nova research and the expanding universe.

As announced at NobelPrize.org, the three 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics winners are Australian Brian Schmidt, and Americans Saul Perlmutter and Adam G. Riess, and were awarded in Stockholm, Sweden.

Perlmutter, 52, who won the half of the 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics, works for the Supernova Cosmology Project, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley, California.

The remaining half was shared by Brian Schmidt, 44, and Adam G. Riess, 42, who both works for the High-z Supernova Search Team in their respective countries, Australia and the US.

Schmidt works for the Australian National University, while Riess works for the Johns Hopkins University and Space Telescope Science Institute, in Baltimore.

The three scientists were honored for “their discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe through observations of distant supernova”.

“They have studied several dozen exploding stars, called supernova, and discovered that the Universe is expanding at an ever-accelerating rate.” The Nobel Prize said during the announcement.

Two research teams notably presented their findings about cosmology in 1998; Saul Perlmutter led one of the teams in 1988. Brian Schmidt headed another team, which was launched at the end of 1994, with Adam Riess played a crucial role.

The Nobel Prize 2010 for Physics went to Russians scientists Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov, who were awarded for their for their “groundbreaking” experiments with the two-dimensional material grapheme. This made possible experiments that can give new twists to the phenomena in Quantum Physics.

The 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was awarded on Monday and went to three scientists, was half jointly to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann while the other half went to Ralph M. Steinman.

Apparently, Steinman passed away on Friday at the age of 68, three days before the announcement of the winners was made and the Nobel Prize committee noted that they were not aware about it.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?