2011 Nobel Peace Prize winners are Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman

By on Oct 7, 2011 in Africa, Asia, Europe, International, Politics Comments

The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize winners were announced on Friday, October 07, 2011 and are Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakul Karman.


2011 Nobel Peace Prize winners (L-R): Ellen Johnson
Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman
(Click Image To Enlarge)

Image Credit: Alex Wong, Frederick M Brown/Getty,
Khaled Abdullah/Reuters

As noted at NobelPrize.org that day, the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize went to incumbent Liberia president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee, and Yemeni journalist Tawakul Karman.

According to the report, the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize was divided to the three women “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”.

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.” The Nobel Prize committee was quoted in a statement.

Johnson Sirleaf, 72, is the 24th President of Liberia and the first elected female head of state in Africa. She took office in 2006 after winning the 2005 presidential election and is running for her second term in the 2011 election this coming Tuesday, October 11, 2011.

Meanwhile, Leymah Gbowee is a noted peace activist, who organized a peace movement that helped the Second Liberian Civil War in 2003 to end, with the succeeded presidential election won by Sirleaf.

On the other hand, Tawakul Karman, who is also a Yemeni politician, is heading the Women Journalists Without Chains (WJWC), which she formed in 2005, and promotes human rights.

Tawakul (sometimes spelled as Tawakel or Tawakkul), 32, is a prominent figure in organizing protests in Yemen this early this year against Yemeni President Ali Abdullah Saleh, who has been ruling the country since 1978.

The 2010 Nobel Peace Prize is Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo, who is still serving an 11-year sentence in jail for inciting the subversion of state power. His wife, Liu Xia, was said to have been placed under house arrest.

The 2011 Nobel Prize winners for Literature, Economics, Chemistry, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were also announced within the week.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?