2011 Jimmy Awards winners announced, Minneapolis and New York teenagers win major awards

By on Jun 28, 2011 in Entertainment, Events, United States Comments

The winners of the 2011 Jimmy Awards were announced on Monday, June 27, 2011 and Minneapolis and New York teenagers have won the major awards.

2011 Jimmy Awards winners Shauni Ruetz
(left) and Ryan McCartan

Image Credit: Charles Sykes/AP

According to its official Facebook page, the awards for Best Actor and Best Actress for the 2011 Jimmy Awards or the 3rd Annual National High School Musical Theater Awards (NHSMTA) were presented on Monday night.

Ryan McCartan of Minneapolis and Shauni Ruetz of Rochester, NY, both 18 years old, won the Best Performance by an Actor and the Best Performance by an Actress award, respectively.

Both of them will receive a $10,000 scholarship awards for their winning performances with their musical and acting abilities which has almost the same format in the TV musical show “Glee“.

As noted at NHSMTA.com, around 50,000 participants from almost 1,000 different schools across the US joined this year’s competition, which is on its third year since 2009.

For five days, actors Nick Adams and Beth Leavel gave the chosen 50 finalists (25 boys and 25 girls) thorough coaching lessons and master classes in a one-on-one approach.

The 2011 Jimmy Awards was held at the Minskoff Theatre in Broadway, New York and was hosted by Gregory Jbara and presenters include Aaron Tveit, Nikki M. James, Harvey Fierstein and Tommy Tune.

The Jimmy Awards was named after its producer and the theater owner James M. Nederlander, in which NHSMTA noted that its purpose is to “celebrate the outstanding student achievement and to recognize individual artistry in vocal, dance and acting performance across the country”.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?