2011 Ig Nobel Awards Winners Announced, Funniest Scientific Discoveries (Video)

By on Oct 1, 2011 in Science, United States, Weird, World Comments

The 2011 Ig Nobel Awards winners were announced on Thursday, September 29, 2011, which was dubbed as the world’s funniest scientific discoveries, as shown in the video below.

Ig Nobel Awards mascot
Image Credit: Improbable.com

As noted by Improbable Research on its official website, the 2011 Ig Nobel Awards night was held at the Sanders Theater, Harvard University at 7:30 p.m (ET), with 10 categories included.

Among the fields included at the 21st First Annual Ig Nobel Prize ceremony are Physiology, Chemistry, Medicine, Psychology, Literature, Biology, Physics, Mathematics, Peace, and Public Safety.

The Ig Nobel prizes were presented to the ten winners (only 7 attended) by seven genuine Nobel laureates, with the said event having around 1,200 people in the audience and was webcast live at YouTube.

Below is the complete list of 2011 Ig Nobel Award winners, whose achievements noted to have first made people laugh and then think, as taken from Improbable.com.

* Physiology Prize:

Anna Wilkinson (of the UK), Natalie Sebanz (of The Netherlands, Hungary, and Austria), Isabella Mandl (of Austria) and Ludwig Huber (of Austria) for their study ‘No Evidence of Contagious Yawning in the Red-Footed Tortoise.”

* Chemistry Prize:

Makoto Imai, Naoki Urushihata, Hideki Tanemura, Yukinobu Tajima, Hideaki Goto, Koichiro Mizoguchi and Junichi Murakami of Japan, for determining the ideal density of airborne wasabi (pungent horseradish) to awaken sleeping people in case of a fire or other emergency, and for applying this knowledge to invent the wasabi alarm.

* Medicine Prize:

Mirjam Tuk (of The Netherlands and the UK), Debra Trampe (of The Netherlands) and Luk Warlop (of Belgium). and jointly to Matthew Lewis, Peter Snyder and Robert Feldman (of the USA), Robert Pietrzak, David Darby, and Paul Maruff (of Australia) for demonstrating that people make quicker and better decisions when they were sort to have a pee, but make worse decisions when they have a strong urge to pee.

* Psychology Prize:

Karl Halvor Teigen of the University of Oslo, Norway, for trying to understand why, in everyday life, people sigh.

* Literature Prize:

John Perry of Stanford University, USA, for his Theory of Structured Procrastination, which says; “To be a high achiever, always work on something important, using it as a way to avoid doing something that’s even more important”.

* Biology Prize:

Darryl Gwynne (of Canada and Australia and the USA) and David Rentz (of Australia and the USA) for discovering that a certain kind of beetle mates with a certain kind of Australian beer bottle.

* Physics Prize:

Philippe Perrin, Cyril Perrot, Dominique Deviterne and Bruno Ragaru (of France), and Herman Kingma (of The Netherlands), for determining why discus throwers become dizzy, and why hammer throwers don’t.

* Mathematics Prize:

Harold Camping of the USA (who predicted the world would end on September 6, 1994 and later predicted that the world will end on October 21, 2011), for teaching the world to be careful when making mathematical assumptions and calculations. He shared awards with his predecessors including fellow Americans Dorothy Martin, Pat Robertson, Elizabeth Clare Prophet, as well as Lee Jang Rim of Korea, and Credonia Mwerinde of Uganda.

* Peace Prize:

Arturas Zuokas, the mayor of Vilnius, Lithuania, for demonstrating that the problem of ‘illegally parked luxury cars can be solved by running them over with an armored tank’.

* Public Safety Prize:

John Senders of the University of Toronto, Canada, for conducting a series of safety experiments in which a person drives an automobile on a major highway while a visor repeatedly flaps down over his face, blinding him.

The 21th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony
Video Credit: ImprobableResearch/YouTube

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?