2011 Heisman winner is Robert Griffin III, first Baylor player to win Heisman trophy

By on Dec 11, 2011 in Football, Sports, United States Comments

Robert Griffin III was named the 2011 Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday, December 10, 2011 and became the first Heisman winner from Baylor University, beating four other finalists.

Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III,
accepting the 2011 Heisman trophy

Image Credit: Kelly Kline/Getty Images

As announced in the ESPN live telecast that day, Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III won the 2011 Heisman Trophy during the 77th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy awards night, which was held at the Best Buy Theatre in New York.

According to reports, the 21-year old junior quarterback received 405 first-place votes and 1,687 points, while Stanford University quarterback Andrew Luck finished second with 1,407 points, receiving 247 first-place votes.

On the other hand, University of Alabama running back Trent Richardson went third with 978 points, University of Wisconsin running back Montee Ball landed fourth with 348 points; and Louisiana State University cornerback Tyrann Mathieu finished fifth with 327 points.

“This is unbelievably believable. It’s unbelievable because in the moment we’re all amazed when great things happen.” Griffin was quoted on reports, after accepting the 2011 Heisman trophy.

“But it’s believable because great things don’t happen without hard work.” Griffin added, who also received the Big 12 Freshman of the Year award back in 2008.

The 6-foot-2-inch, 220-pounder football player threw for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns with a 77.8% completion percentage this year and three (3) punts for a total of 99 yards, the longest punt was 39 yards.

Spread The News!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Related News

What's On Your Mind?